Sankt Moritz

Wow. It has been a while since I wrote.

Apologies, my season has been caught up in the wind, being taken here there and everywhere.

From home briefly to training, to competitions to more strength sessions at home in the gym courtesy to my personal trainer, the fabulous Sam Taylor. This man, unbeknownst to him, set up for a client of a lifetime. From weekly private physio, to twice weekly strength and conditioning as a GB Para Athlete. More than ten years has gone by and many more to go. Anyway, I digress.

I spent around three weeks at home, a good length to improve my strength and fitness in the gym. Seeing family, friends, and earning some money. Early December, my mother and I headed out to Stubai to train for a week with Jasper Balcaen, originally a friend on the circuit, now on my friend and coach. Jasper raced competitively for twelve years and attended two Paralympic games, representing Belgium. The training went well, no injuries. Lots of snow and lots of amazing skiing.

After a week away, I got to have a week at home. Just a quick catch up of work, family and friends. Followed by a lovely week racing in Sankt Moritz. Either side, we stopped off at my grandparent’s flat, in my grandfathers hometown. To break the journey up. We travelled out to Sankt Moritz, Switzerland with my friend and teammates mother. When we arrived in Sankt Moritz, ahead of us was three races. Two Giant Slalom races and one Slalom.

The first day was quite a day. After the first run, I managed to fall over, smack bang onto my head. I succumbed to a concussion and a nasty friction burn. I proceeded to not finish that race due to the concussion.

The second day, I was really not feeling up to racing however thankfully Pat Sharples came to the rescue after I grumpily got kitted up and to the top for the first run. He managed to get me out of my head and into the head of ‘have fun, enjoy!’. I channelled my energy into the run and got a significantly faster time than the first run of the day before. I was elated. Fast forward to the end of the second run, I had completed it, gained respect from my co-workers and coaches and finished on a World Cup hill, amongst a World Cup field. Even though I finished last.

The third day, the weather was coming in. The light was flat and I could barely see a thing. My mother was my guide. After a survived first run of Slalom, we were heading to the second inspection. Unfortunately, I hit very deep powder with my skis; got stuck and sustained another head injury. I finished the inspection and decide to call it for that race.

What an experience. I managed to finish a Giant Slalom race amongst a World Cup Field on a World Cup piste. It was only a Europa Cup however there was no doubt it felt like a World Cup race. I could have come back for Christmas disheartened by my time on the second day, however I came back feeling accomplished with myself. For those who know me and those who do not, this is not a feeling I feel very often.

As I write this, I need to get ready for bed. I shall write my blog on my recent races in Airolo tomorrow.

Many thanks to my parents, family, teammates, friends and sponsors for all the support and encouragement.

Speak soon,

Molly

Leave a comment